Blurry Lights

The jury

Jean-François Caissy
 

Unknown.jpeg

A native of Carleton-sur-Mer, Quebec, Jean-François Caissy works as an independent artist in the fields of film and visual arts. After a promising start with his documentary LA SAISON DES AMOURS (2005), he directed LA BELLE VISITE (2009) which had its world premiere at the 60th Berlin Film Festival. LA MARCHE À SUIVRE (2014), his third feature-length documentary, was presented at the 64th Berlinale and went on to win the "World Pulse Award" for best documentary at the IndieLisboa festival in Portugal." The film is also being shown at the Museum of Modern Art in New York as part of the "MoMA Presents" series. Trained as a photographer, Jean-François Caissy also pursues a practice in visual arts. His video installation DERBY (2011) was presented at the Clark Center in Montreal and at the Anthology Film Archives in New York. His video installation EXPOSITION AGRICOLE (2017) was presented at the Cinémathèque québécoise in Montreal. His film PREMIÈRES ARMES (2018), earned him a third invitation to the Berlinale.

Photo_TorillKove copy.jpg

Torill Kove is a Norwegian/Canadian animation director, illustrator, and author. She has directed six award-winning animated short films in cooperation with the NFB and Norwegian studios.  Three of her films received Oscar nominations and one of them, The Danish Poet, received an  Oscar in 2007. In 2013 she directed an animated feature film Hokus Pokus Alfie Atkins, based on a book by the iconic Swedish author Gunilla Bergström. Torill has adapted four of her animated films to picture books and also made a wordless picture book about two cats who get caught up in their owners’ custody battle. As an illustrator, she has collaborated with several Norwegian writers. Torill is now working on a new animated short. She lives in Montreal with her family.

Torill Kove
 

Khoa Lê
 

Unknown-8.jpeg

Khoa Lê is a Montreal-based filmmaker, stage director and video designer, author of feature films, documentaries, essays and video installations. He seeks to create objects that blur the limits of the sacred, the banal, the real and the imaginary. His quest for freedom, his desire to expose the artist's creative gestures and impulses pushes him to transcend formal boundaries.

Blurry Lights

Le jury

Jean-François Caissy
 

Unknown.jpeg

Originaire de Carleton-sur-Mer au Québec, Jean-François Caissy œuvre en tant qu’artiste indépendant dans les domaines du cinéma et des arts visuels. Après un début prometteur avec le documentaire LA SAISON DES AMOURS (2005), il réalise LA BELLE VISITE (2009) qui est présenté en première mondiale au 60e Festival du film de Berlin. LA MARCHE À SUIVRE (2014), troisième long métrage documentaire, fut présenté à la 64e Berlinale pour ensuite remporter le “World Pulse Award” du meilleur documentaire au festival IndieLisboa, au Portugal”. Le film est également présenté au Museum of Modern Art de New York dans le cadre de la série “MoMA Presents”. Photographe de formation, Jean-François Caissy poursuit également une pratique en arts visuels. Son installation vidéo DERBY (2011) fut présentée au Centre Clark à Montréal ainsi qu’au Anthology Film Archives à New York. Son installation vidéo EXPOSITION AGRICOLE (2017) fut présentée à la Cinémathèque québécoise à Montréal. Son film PREMIÈRES ARMES (2018), lui vaut une troisième invitation à la Berlinale.

Photo_TorillKove copy.jpg

Torill Kove est une réalisatrice d'animation, illustratrice et auteure norvégienne-canadienne. Elle a réalisé six courts métrages d'animation qui ont remporté des prix en collaboration avec l'ONF et des studios norvégiens.  Trois de ses films ont été nominés aux Oscars et l'un d'entre eux, The Danish Poet, a reçu un Oscar en 2007. En 2013, elle a réalisé un long métrage d'animation Hokus Pokus Alfie Atkins, basé sur un livre de l'auteur suédois emblématique Gunilla Bergström. Torill a adapté quatre de ses films d'animation en livres illustrés et a également réalisé un livre illustré sans texte sur deux chats qui se retrouvent pris dans la bataille pour la garde de leurs maîtres. En tant qu'illustratrice, elle a collaboré avec plusieurs écrivains norvégiens. Torill travaille actuellement sur un nouveau court métrage d'animation. Elle vit à Montréal avec sa famille.

Torill Kove
 

Khoa Lê
 

Unknown-8.jpeg

Khoa Lê est un cinéaste, metteur en scène et concepteur vidéo montréalais, auteur de longs métrages, documentaires, essais et installations vidéo. À travers ses réalisations artistiques il cherche à créer des objets qui brouillent les limites du sacré, du banal, du réel et de l'imaginaire. Sa quête de liberté artistique et son désir d'exposer les gestes créatifs le poussent à transcender les frontières formelles.